Book onto the ‘Being Heard’ webinar: Friday 1st December



‘Being Heard’: Involving Children and Young People in Participatory Research on Sexual Violence: Challenges and Approaches

1 December 2017

9am GMT/10am CET

The ‘Being Heard’ project, a collaboration between the Sexual Violence Research Initiative (SVRI) and the International Centre: Researching child sexual exploitation, violence and trafficking’ (IC), University of Bedfordshire, seeks to promote the ethical, meaningful and participatory involvement of children and young people in sexual violence research. As part of the project, a scoping was undertaken to review international evidence on youth engagement in participatory research on sexual violence.

In collaboration with SVRI and the South African Medical Research Council (SAMRC), we will be running a joint webinar to share emerging findings from the scoping. Dr. Silvie Bovarnick and Dr. Helen Beckett will be talking about why and how we should engage children and young people in participatory research on sexual violence.

Exploring some of the barriers, risks, benefits, methodological and ethical challenges associated with this work, the session will include some practical reflections on how we might meaningfully and ethically involve children and young people in participatory research on sensitive topics.

There will be a space for you to share some of your experiences, to ask questions and to reflect on some of the practical, ethical and methodological challenges associated with the participatory involvement of children and young people in different stages of the research process.


Please join us!

To register: On the day of the webinar please click on this link OR email Morma Moremi at and she will send you the necessary link.

We will use Zoom (a very easy, low bandwidth platform).


When: Friday, 1 December, 9:00-10:30 (GMT)

11:00-12:30 (South African time) (9:00-10:30 GMT, 10-11:30 CET, 2:00-3:30 Tajikistan/Pakistan, 3:00-4:30, Bangladesh; 2:45-4:15 Nepal, 10:00-11:30 DRC, 12:00-1:30, Kenya/Uganda, 11:00-12:30, Zambia/Rwanda, 1:00-2:30 Afghanistan, 9:00-10:30 Ghana; 2:30-4:00 Delhi)